Scholarship Programmes

The Stephen Alleyne Scholarship

This Scholarship is awarded annually to a final year student of the BSc degree programme in Actuarial Science at the University of the West Indies, Mona Campus.  Candidates must have a record of strong academic performance.  

The Scholarship award is US$2,500. 

Candidates for the Scholarship must

  • be CARICOM nationals in their final year of the BSc degree in Actuarial Science at the Mona Campus of the University of the West Indies
  • have a B+ average or its equivalent and must maintain this average for the duration of the award
  • be in financial need

The application Form may be downloaded from the UWI website here and returned to the UWI Office of Student Financing by the stipulated deadline.

Please email us at  for  further details or contact the Office of Student Financing, University of the West Indies, Mona Campus.

Past Winners of the Scholarship

  • Conroy Campbell, 2021-22
  • Danielle Morgan, 2020-21
  • Tarique Anderson, 2019-20
  • Lindsay Pink, 2018-19
  • Xuxa Gordon, 2017-18
  • Sonya Thompson, 2016-17
  • Sherdon Smith, 2015-16
  • Jahnigh Clemmence, 2014-15
  • Joseph Brown, 2012-13


History of the Stephen Alleyne Scholarship 

The Scholarship is awarded in honour of Stephen Alleyne, FFA, a founding Member of the Association, who served on its Executive Council from 1992 to 1998 holding several positions including First Vice President.   Stephen was the first qualified Barbadian actuary to serve as the Appointed Actuary to a local insurance company.  He was also the first Barbadian actuary to head an insurance company when he became President and Chief Executive Officer of Life of Barbados Limited in 1998. 

Stephen was Deputy Chairman of Barbados' National Insurance Board from 1994 to 2005.  He served as Chairman of the Sub-Committee for Pension Reform and was instrumental in the successful implementation of major reforms in Barbados' social security system.

Stephen was also a cricket administrator and made an immeasurable contribution to both Barbados and West Indies cricket.  He served as President of the Barbados Cricket Association and was the President of the World Cup Barbados Organising Committee. 


Also available at UWI Mona are the Long Actuarial Scholarship, endowed by Andrew Long FIA, and the Norbert Fullerton Actuarial Scholarship, endowed by Norbert Fullerton FIA, both alumni of UWI Mona.


Caribbean Actuarial Scholarship

The Caribbean Actuarial Scholarship is an annual award to University of the West Indies (UWI) actuarial student(s) who demonstrate a strong record of accomplishment, leadership qualities and commitment to becoming an actuary. 

The Caribbean Actuarial Scholarship was established in 2008 in memory of Basil L. and Monica G. Virtue by their son-in-law, S. Michael McLaughlin, FFSA, FIA, MAAA, CERA, an actuary who graduated from UWI.

The Scholarship award(s) covers educational expenses. The Actuarial Foundation awards this scholarship in the following levels:

$2,000 – student entering second year of studies and
$3,000 – student entering third year of studies. 

Further information about this scholarship can be found here.